Home > Books, Competitions, Self-publishing, Successes, Travel > Sally Quilford’s Birthday Giveaways Plus a Catch-up

Sally Quilford’s Birthday Giveaways Plus a Catch-up

I’m just back from walking the Cleveland Way (109 miles in 10 gloriously sunny days) and am now chasing my tail trying to catch up on everything! Sally Jenkins, Cleveland Way

Just before I left I had an acceptance from My Weekly. It was for a story I subbed in October 2011 – so never think your story has fallen into a black hole if you get no response!

Also, those lovely people at Readers’ Favourite  have reviewed my non-fiction book A Writer on Writing – Advice to Make You A Success. They’ve given it a whopping 5 stars (and I promise, no money changed hands!). Read the review here.

Finally, today is Sally Quilford’s 50th birthday and there are lots of exciting things happening on her blog, including e-book giveaways and a massive prize draw. I’ve joined in the fun and one of Sally’s giveaways is my e-book, Maxine’s Story – The Museum of Fractured Lives. It’s free for today only (11th August) and you can get it directly via Amazon or why not pop over to Sally’s blog and check out all the other goodies too? Her prize draw closes on Friday 16th August but many of the e-book freebies are only valid today.

By the way, if you’re looking for an escapist easy read, take a look at Carole Matthews’ new book, Calling Mrs Christmas. I received a review copy via Carole’s newsletter and it was perfect holiday reading. It took me from the misery of a suicide attempt in a young offenders’ institution to the splendour of Lapland’s famous Ice Hotel. And it was all tied together with a little bit of love …

  1. August 11, 2013 at 9:28 am

    Sounds like a great holiday, Sally – I love walking. Thanks for all the great information.

    • August 11, 2013 at 9:35 am

      It was good to get out in the fresh air, Wendy. Staring at a computer all day is not good for the soul!

  2. August 11, 2013 at 1:03 pm

    You look extremely happy in that photo Sally. I’ve mentioned Sally’s giveaway too, it’s mighty generous. I enjoyed reading your piece in the Writing magazine as well. Amazing how you could have sent that story somewhere else, and now it pops up. Great news. Any idea which issue?

    • August 11, 2013 at 3:26 pm

      No, I don’t which issue of My Weekly yet, Susan. Liz Smith just said ‘soon’. And yes, Sally Quilford has gone to a lot of trouble hasn’t she?

  3. August 14, 2013 at 3:26 pm

    You were lucky with the weather. I had a holiday in North Yorks last year. The rain didn’t stop me getting out and about and enjoying the experience, but a bit of sun would have been very welcome! Congrats on the long-lost My Weekly story and the book review.

    • August 14, 2013 at 4:53 pm

      Last summer was rather a wash-out wasn’t it, Linda? I hope you caught a bit of sun this year.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 206 other followers

